Johnny Isakson – I will vote against the resolution to authorize a U.S. military strike in Syria.


Sen.Johnny Isakson

Sen.Johnny Isakson (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dear Ms. Clark:

 

You have recently written in to my office regarding the use of military force in Syria, and I wanted to provide you with an update. If you do not want to receive this type of update in the future, please fill out the webform on my website and choose “DO NOT SEND ISSUE UPDATES” from the drop down topic list.

 

On August 21, 2013, chemical weapons were used in an attack that killed over 1,000 Syrian citizens, including women and children. President Obama asked Congress for authorization to use military action against Syria in response to this attack on August 31, 2013. I believe it is appropriate for the president to seek authorization from Congress.

 

The decision to use U.S. military forces is not one that I take lightly. Over the past week, I have traveled my state and have talked personally to hundreds of Georgians. Thousands more constituents have contacted my office by phone and email. It is clear to me that Georgians overwhelmingly oppose our country getting involved militarily in Syria.

 

After carefully weighing this very important issue, I have decided that I will vote against the resolution to authorize a U.S. military strike in Syria.

 

The administration’s lack of a clear strategy is troubling, and the potential fallout following a military strike is also troubling.

 

Thank you again for your interest in this subject. Please visit my webpage at http://isakson.senate.gov/ for more information on the issues important to you and to sign up for my e-newsletter.
Sincerely,
Johnny Isakson
United States Senator

Leave a Reply

